Book Review: Worlds Worst Children

Title: World’s Worst Children

Author: David Walliams, illustrated by Tony Ross

Age Group: Young Readers, 8-12

wwcfinalrgb

“Dahl finally has a worthy successor.” – Telegraph

I think the first, most important thing, I need to point out is that I am definitely not the demographic for this particular novel. Also this is the first ever book I have read by this author and I’m sure my opinion will change – should I read more of his work. That being said, after growing up on Roald Dahl’s books I don’t believe that Walliams is anywhere near being Dahl’s successor. I can see how that particular opinion can be formed as Tony Ross and Sir Quentin Blake are quite similar in illustrative style, and both have that kooky and messy yet easy to understand formation of images. Personally, I don’t think I can see any Walliams books hitting the ‘Classics’ list like many of Dahl’s have, but I don’t know what time will bring.

I feel like this was one of those books that can only be enjoyed by the demographic and the accompanying parent. A lot of positive reviews I’ve heard for this novel have come from the age group as well as parents of the age group, saying it’s funny and witty and just downright hilarious. Having heard my mum tell me for many years that it’s easy to like what your children like because of the amount of time you spend with one another, I’m not surprised that a lot of parents, especially mums enjoyed this book. I am no where near being a mum, in fact the only social interactions I have with 8-12 year old children in specific – or any young child for that matter – is when I’m at work and helping them find novels that suit their needs and interests.

All this being said, I don’t think this was a bad novel, or terrible or awful or any of those negative things, I just feel like it’s one of those novels that are very well suited to the intended age group and not necessarily anyone older than that. Looking at it from a young ones perspective, then yes, it is absolutely hilarious and well written, and I can see why boys in specific would enjoy this book more, and that’s because of the disgusting content – that at points made my skin crawl and made me stop reading for a few seconds to maintain composure – that little boys would giggle until their sides hurt.

I would definitely be interested to see other opinions on this book, I’v read a few reviews on Goodreads and noticed that there were a few folk who also didn’t really enjoy this one and a lot who did. So it is nice to see other opinions.

Overall when you think of the age group it was written for, this really is a great little novel and I highly recommend it to young kids who enjoy David Walliams and his style of writing, this one just wasn’t suited to me and quite frankly I didn’t enjoy it. Looking past my own opinion, it was a fun learning curve and I can see why the kids like Walliams’ style, it’s crazy and imaginative and can keep kids entertained until the last page.

Until next time, keep turning those pages.

xx Phoenix

Leave a Reply

