Book Review: The Great Gatsby

Title: The Great Gatsby

Author: F Scott Fitzgerald

Genre: Fiction, A-Z

 

   There is no doubt that F. Scott Fitzgerald had a great mind when it came to writing. I could immediately pick up why this book is so popular with lovers of classic novels and English classes.

   However, as much as I’m not really a fan of classics the same stems to modern classics. I unfortunately found this book to be very drab and uninteresting, filled with characters who – no doubt in those days – felt they had problems so bad that every day life couldn’t solve, problems which (in the end) I resorted to calling “Rich People Problems”.

   Now to make things a little clearer, I am relatively young, and after having a chat with my mum she said that sometimes certain novels are best enjoyed at an older age, and I definitely don’t dispute that. Perhaps that is this particular case. My mum said how at a young age she tried the Godfather series and had an absolute dislike for it but trying it at an older age she found it was very enjoyable. I’m going to put this novel in that kind of category. Not only do I think that feasibly this is the type of book that I should try pick up again in my later years but I also think it’s one of those books that come back down to the experiences you’ve encountered in your life. Sometimes novels play relevance on your own life skills which is what forms your views and opinions of it.

   Don’t get me wrong, the novel was expertly put together with all kinds of meanings and metaphors as though trying to weave together to make a beautiful blanket, but being only in my early twenties, this book just didn’t suit me at all well, scoring a sad and sorry 2/5 stars.

   Fingers crossed for the next book!

Until next time, keep turning those pages.

xx Phoenix

3 thoughts on “Book Review: The Great Gatsby

  1. TheAliceFan says:

    Despite its acclaim, I have heard plenty of dislikes towards the book. I have never read the book myself, but I do plan to read it, and see if I will loathe it like a number of people.

    I do like your saying that the opinion towards the book may change given time 😀

    Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

    • PhoenixFireSoul says:

      It’s always nice to hear other opinions on something even if they are negative. I’d heard about this book from a young man the same age as me however his opinions were close to being the same as mine. Although any opinion is a good opinion even if it’s a negative one. If you do read it I hope you enjoy it – if not it be awesome to hear what you have to say about it. I fully believe that I may like this book in a decade or so time.
      Thank you for your comments!
      Happy reading 😄

      Liked by 1 person

      • TheAliceFan says:

        Certainly! People’s views regarding a work as subjective as literature can vary tremendously, and that can be a good thing since it offers different perspectives towards the literature rather than promoting a trend where only one opinion is truly valid.

        I do hope so! Thank you for responding, too 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

