Book Review: The Island of Dr Moreau

Title: The Island of Dr Moreau

Author: H G Wells

Genre: Science Fiction

IslandOfDrMoreau.JPG

   It took me a long time to actually get around to reading this novel and once I’d finished it, I found myself asking, “Why? Why did I take so long to do this?” It’s superb, and blatantly obvious to see why it remains one of Wells’ most popular books to this day.

   I thoroughly enjoyed seeing the differences between an older science fiction novel versus the modern day one. There is a big difference but in fairness, this book was published in 1896 – so we are looking at a 121 year gap.

   There’s really is nothing I enjoy more from a novel than when it’s themes and ideas can have a psychological impact on you; something that makes you stop and think. Dealing with the biggest themes of pain, cruelty, and human interference with nature are quite a heavy topic to deal with but Wells was able to do it in a truly incredible way and shows how tampering in areas that shouldn’t be tampered with can lead to quite dramatic repercussions.

   If you’re a fan of Science Fiction and haven’t yet given this novel a go, I would highly recommend doing so. I know for some, reading an older novel or a classic can turn into being quite a chore because of how differently they read to modern books and that’s understandable – I’m one of those folk, classics tend to drive me up the wall – but this one is honestly worth the read.

   Overall I rate this an impressive 4.5/5 stars.

Until next time, keep turning those pages.

xx Phoenix

2 thoughts on “Book Review: The Island of Dr Moreau

Leave a Reply

