Book Review: Black and Blue

Title: Bookshots Series: Black and Blue

Author: James Patterson with Candice Fox

Genre: Fiction, A-Z

   First things first: when James Patterson started this whole Bookshots thing, I can honestly say I though it was a little weird and perhaps a bit of a money making scheme – please don’t get me wrong on this, Mr P is like a God to me, I love this man and his work – but in time I came to see that it was one of the best ideas anyone had ever made.

   The idea of Bookshots is so that busy people with busy lives who enjoy reading can still enjoy reading. The stories are written small – around 120-140 pages each – but contain all the information and character development that any other James Patterson novel would contain.

How does he get this right?  I hear you asking.

He’s a genius. Plain and simple.

   All this said, I found this to be a very interesting shot; not really knowing if I enjoyed it as much as I have with any other James Patterson novels, but it was still good and maintained that fast pace that all of his books do. I don’t want to say that there was confusion, but I found there to be quite a bit of back and forth between different characters perspectives., and it resulted in me getting a bit lost from time to time, but I would soon find myself right back on track again.

   It was good, but perhaps it was missing a little something?

   With what my brain is currently going through, I wouldn’t be at all surprised if it’s just my thoughts getting scrambled and making me think it needed something. It was good, and for anyone who leads a busy life but enjoys reading – you can still have your down time with a good book.

   I gave this one a great 3.5/5 stars.

Until next time, keep turning those pages.

xx Phoenix

 

Leave a Reply

