Book Review: The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time

Title: The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time

Author: Mark Haddon

Age Group: Young Adults, 13+

   “But I said that you could still want something that is very unlikely to happen.”

   Christopher Boone was one of the most insightful characters I’ve ever come across in a novel in all my years of reading. His intelligence makes you question your own, and what you believe in, and it’s a truly beautiful thing. To anyone who hasn’t yet read this novel, I hope by the time I’ve signed off you’ve added it to your to-read list.

   The plot follows the first person perspective of young Christopher Boone, a fifteen year old who – although not directly stated – has special needs. He doesn’t like the colour yellow or the colour brown, he has an incredible brain when it comes to mathematics and physics, and most importantly, he doesn’t like being touched – not even by his family.

“Everyone has learning difficulties, because learning to speak French or understanding relativity is difficult.”

   Christopher’s world starts to turn upside down on a night when he finds the neighbours dog has been killed with a garden fork, and he goes on a detective mission to uncover the truth of who committed the crime; following in the footsteps of his favourite detective, Sherlock Holmes. However, during his detective work, he finds out secrets that his father has been keeping from him and his world starts to come crashing down around him.

   “And I said “Yes,” because loving someone is helping them when they get into trouble, and looking after them, and telling them the truth, and Father looks after me when I get into trouble, like coming to the police station, and he looks after me by cooking meals for me, and he always tells me the truth, which means that he loves me.”

   The book is filled with some of the most touching quotes and inspirations that I’ve ever come across in a Young Adult novel, and after finishing it, I was no longer surprised as to why this book was on one of the “Top” lists at my local bookstore for so long. For any Young Adult – or rather for anyone – who hasn’t yet read this novel, you won’t be disappointed. It’s gorgeous.

If you have read this book and felt differently, please let me know your thoughts! I’d love to hear them.

Lastly, for the first time in a long time, this book gets a 5/5 stars from me.

Until next time, keep turning those pages.

xx Phoenix

Leave a Reply

