Book Review: The Time Machine

Title: The Time Machine

Author: H. G. Wells

Genre: Science Fiction

   I feel foolish for not having tried to read this mans work a lot sooner than what I have. For those who see my reviews quite frequently, you’ll have seen that I quite recently read “The Island of Doctor Moreau” – and I couldn’t get enough which is why I moved on to another of his novels.

   In The Time Machine we follow the Time Traveler and his incredible account of the journey he took – 800,000 years into the future. The time machine takes him to a dying earth where he discovers two races known as the Eloi and the Morlocks, and on his journey he learns how to speak the foreign language of the Eloi and how to understand them and their strange ways. Weird things start to happen which he tries to uncover, but the Eloi avoid his questions and panic when he asks certain questions.

   I absolutely loved Weena and the bond and relationship she forms with the Traveler.

   This is one of those novels that puts the science into science fiction. It’s an absolutely incredible read and I highly recommend it to anyone who enjoys the world of Sci-Fi.

   Despite being 122 years old, this was a great read and doesn’t read like an older novel. I know from personal experience, I find it very difficult to read the older novels because of their format and style – and the older English – but thus far I haven’t encountered that problem with H. G. Wells and his work.

   Overall, this was a 4/5 star book for me.

Until next time, keep turning those pages.

xx Phoenix

One thought on “Book Review: The Time Machine

Leave a Reply

